Flip-Flopping Romney?

For anyone who wasn’t able to catch Mitt Romney’s speech on faith, I recommend that you go to his website to watch it. I believe it was the best speech by a politician thus far. I never had an qualms about his faith to begin, but if I did, I think the speech would help a little bit.

Many reviews of his speech claim that Romney looked more presidential than any other candidate to date. I would agree, yet it really isn’t that important. What is important are the issues of course (unfortunately, many people don’t realize this).

But what about flip-flopping? Oh, the dreaded term that destroyed Kerry’s campaign. Well, it appears that Mitt has potentially dug himself a hole (should anyone pick up on it):

“I do not define my candidacy by my religion. A person should not be elected because of his faith, nor should he be rejected because of his faith,” – Mitt Romney, at the George Bush Presidential Library and Museum today.

And then there is this:

“We need to have a person of faith lead the country,” – Mitt Romney, February 17, 2007.

Thoughts?

One Response

  1. Romney is exactly what the Republicans panted Kerry as in the last election (maybe it’s a Massachusetts thing). That being said I thought this conference was a stroke of brilliance. People are going to embrace him for tackling this head on. It’s about people being sympathetic to him and I think this was smart.

Leave a Reply

