The Greatest Sin

It is not uncommon to hear Christians talking about sins, and if one is worse than another. Naturally, it says that all sins are equally detestable to God, but is there a sin that rises above them all?

In short, I would say no (although there is mention of the “unforgivable” sin, which is speaking against the holy spirit). Nonetheless, I heard someone say something very interesting the other day that I want to share. During one of my classes at business school, the professor said something along the lines of:

One of the greatest sins that the Bible harps on is underutilization of potential


Now you’ll just have to believe me that my professor wasn’t preaching religion in business school (haha), he kind of said it in a passing comment. The point of the class is to discover your learning style, values, and preferences in the hopes you’ll become a better team player/leader and lead a better life. But enough about that…

Is what my professor said true? It seems to have some validity. Many of Jesus’ parables emphasize the importance of (for lack of a better term) not “half-assing” life. God doesn’t want minimal effort – he wants you to realize your full potential; He wants us to be the light that is not covered, shining to the world.

As the Bible articulates, the Kingdom of Heaven is present; it is now. We are a living testimony of God’s love and perfection. Underachieving, then, could be seen as a direct contradiction to God’s will/desire for humanity to realize their absolute power and potential. Reaching full life potential glorifies God.

Or perhaps you disagree?

6 Responses

  1. Reaching full life potential does glorify God and if we are submitted to that process with a willing heart we will glorify Him on the way to achieving that.

  2. very well said Ace.

  3. I agree. One of the worst thing we could do is to hole up in our collective shells praying that Jesus would come and take us to heaven.

  4. yes Matt, I absolutely agree with you…in fact, I write about such “ministries” in the third part of my “Christianity’s Downfall” series, titled: The Cult Within Christianity.

    you may find it of interest 🙂

  5. Best post yet…and I couldn’t agree more.

  6. Justin,
    Although I agree to some extent, there is danger in comparison. Some people are chosen by God for great things, but most are not. If I compare myself to leaders like Bob Russell, or Dave Regan I fall way short: not even in the same ballpark. If I keep thinking that I am not living up to my potential I end up being a very unhappy and unfulfilled Christian. I look at living my life something like giving money for causes, if I am not happy giving then I don’t think God wants me to and if I am unhappy trying to live up to someone else’s idea of what I can achieve, I don’t think God wants that either. God says in order to be perfect I must give everything and then follow Him, but honestly don’t posses the ability to be perfect. I also do not posses great amounts of money to give, just as I don’t posses great abilities for the advancement of the Kingdom. On top of that, I don’t believe that I have ever done anything as well as I could have. Underachievement is different for different people. By the way, the unforgivable sin, as I understand it, is not asking for Jesus to save you, everything else is forgivable and is forgiven when you call on Jesus.

Leave a Reply

