Recharging the Religious Battery

The following scripture was read yesterday when I was in Church.  I enjoyed it so much that I wanted to share it with you.  It is from Paul’s second letter to the Corinthians (starting at 2 Corinthians 13).

 It is written: “I believed; therefore I have spoken.”  With that same spirit of faith we also believe and therefore speak, because we know that the one who raised the Lord Jesus from the dead will also raise us with Jesus and present us with you in his presence. All this is for your benefit, so that the grace that is reaching more and more people may cause thanksgiving to overflow to the glory of God.

Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.

To the believer, this spiritual truth fills us with joy and hope – yet the unbeliever reads it and laughs.  But, I believe this passage encompasses the philosophy and theology of the ages.  Naturally, the “seen” (science’s domain) is temporary.  Believers focus on the unseen because we know that this realm is where the importance lies.  At a certain point, there is no use in asking an unbeliever to understand this concept – in most cases, they have become lovers of themselves, and therefore cloud their ability to comprehend Godly truths.

Although I often enjoy conversing with unbelievers in the effort to demonstrate the real truth of scripture, I must admit that I do enjoy falling back on the heart of God’s revelation with fellow believers.  It’s like re-charging my religious battery.

3 Responses

  1. Hi, Justin,

    I was reading your blog and I thought you might be someone with a hopeful story to tell. We are looking for manuscripts to publish. I work for a small Christian publishing company in Indianapolis, Indiana, and we are actively seeking new authors for traditional publishing. We seek inspiring/motivating and instructional/reference manuscripts across a variety of genres including nonfiction, fiction, children’s books, and textbooks. We want to publish the kind of stories that positively impact people and even change lives. If you have a manuscript to submit, please visit our company online at http://www.powerpublishinginc.com for our easy submission guidelines and more information about us and what we publish. Thanks. Please spread the word!

  2. […] The following scripture was read yesterday when I was in Church. I enjoyed it so much that I wanted to Read full story… […]

  3. Hi janetmonkey,

    thank you for the offer. However, I am already signed to a publisher for my book. Best of luck with the company.

Leave a Reply

