Make way Judy – here comes Judge Seidlin!

The Florida judge noted for his unorthodox oversight of the Anna Nicole Smith case says he is retiring at the end of July.

“As a judge, I have been deeply touched by the thousands of children and families in crisis who have come before me to share their struggles,” Broward County Circuit Judge Larry Seidlin wrote June 13 to Florida Gov. Charlie Crist. story.ans.judge.wed.02.cnn.jpg 

“I hope that by working together, we have made a positive difference in their lives,” Seidlin added. “I consider myself among the most fortunate people on earth.” The letter was made public Tuesday.

“Nevertheless,” he continued, “it is now time for me to devote more of my daily life to my own young family and to pursue the many opportunities that have been offered to me outside the judicial system, and I have disregarded until now.”

The 57-year-old Bronx native wept on the bench during his oversight of the disposition of Smith’s remains.

CNN legal analyst Jeffrey Toobin referred to him as “Judge Judy’s wacky little brother.”

Some observers speculated he was using his platform as a dais from which to try out for a job on television. (story and picture from CNN.com)

______________________

I am happy to see this guy retire – he clearly had an alternative motive when presiding over the case. Unfortunately, the entertainement industry has an influence even in the judicial system of this country. Judges are becoming infactuated by the idea of having their own television show where a loyal fan base will laugh at disrespectful behavior behind the bench, much like “Judge” Judy (she’s actually a mediator, not a real Judge).

I don’t care that the man cried, especially if he meant it. Would I have cried? I don’t know, probably not in my courtroom. I wonder if the reaction would have been different had the Judge been a woman? It’s possible. I would argue that, at the very least, it would have received less badgering (a sad reality of our society).

I don’t think anyone will miss Judge Seidlin. However, I do wonder if a second/third rate station will give him a contract to see what kind of ratings they can muster up. Sure, he may be a sub-par judge, but that would put him in the ranks of the other celebrity judges presiding on our television sets.

Leave a Reply

