Tax on Emails (!?)

Over the past few days, I have heard some pretty disturbing news through the grapevine. Apparently, the U.S. Government is losing money from their monopoly (U.S. Postal Service). As a result, there have been rumors that the government wants to start taxing emails.

I did some research on the topic and came across a couple interesting stories from CNN and The Washington Post. One hoax that dominated internet discussion boards in the early 2000s was that of “House Bill 602P”. Apparently, this bill, (proposed by fake congressman ‘Tony Schnell’) would put a five cent tax on each email sent. You would think that congressmen and women would immediately know that this was a hoax since there is not a ‘Congressman Schnell’, but during their 2000 senate race, both Hillary Clinton and Rick Lazio came out against the bill! (haha)

All joking aside, it seems that the idea of taxes on emails is definately an attractive one for our government. It could potentially raise millions (billions?) of dollars each year. The problem they face is the tremendous backlash from the public.

Interestingly, the idea of putting a tax on emails is coming up in other countries as a viable method for funding different programs and intiatives. For instace, one politician from the European Parliament’s budget committee has suggested taxing emails to help fund the European Union.

The theory is that there are so many emails sent out in a day, a tax of only a small fraction of a penny would not be a burden for the average individual. However, no matter the tax amount, companies who rely heavily on technology for communication, notifications, and everyday business process (i.e. ebay, paypal, and the like) would take the biggest hits and hinder efficiency.

Personally, I don’t like the idea at all. It discourages creative thinking, communication, and progress as we know it. I am confident that if such a bill were proposed, that thousands of citizens would contact their representatives (most likely through email).

I like this quote I found regarding the internet:

“Half the reason the Internet has become so successful is because the government has had little involvement.”
— CNET News.com reader

It’s so true. Keeping the government out of the internet should be a priority for this country.

3 Responses

  1. […] leaving the governor’s office to work on Hillary Clinton’s presidential campaign.Tax on Emails (!?) You would think that congressmen and women would immediately know that this was a hoax since there […]

  2. Being as much that I don’t agree completely with a tax on e-mails, I think it would help all of the junk mail that gets passed around. As much as I appreciate the thought (sometimes) that people send me prayers online, I would rather have the prayers that are said for me, especially when ‘I have to pass on this powerful prayer to 10 others’. I do pray, I pray often, however I don’t pray by e-mail.
    I’m sure no one will be so quick to forward the chain letters and dirty jokes if they were paying for them. If I have something important to tell friends and family over e-mail, I would be willing to pay a few fractions of a cent each time.

  3. junk mail would be reduced, but I have found a large decrease in my junk mail just because of more advanced security settings. I am extremely against a tax because of what I mentioned above. Surely there are better ways to stop those gosh darn spammers!

Leave a Reply

