Why I (a Christian) admire Atheists

Below is a post I put on an Atheist blog (of which I am a Theist contributor).  In it, I describe why I admire atheists.  Given the nature of my post “Responsible Christians are Rare“, I think that the following message fits very well. 

______________________

Simply put, I admire Atheists. You would think, given my religious perspective and convictions, that an Atheist would be considered my “Darth Vader” (like they are to many believers), but such is not the case. I honestly believe that today’s Theist can, and should, adopt some vital lessons from the 21st century Atheists.

Atheism requires a continuous quest for knowledge. As a result, the Atheist often advances their own cognitive condition by subjecting themselves to a wealth of information with an overall goal to progress in their beliefs. Information at the Atheist’s fingertips comes from personal experience, psychology, physiology, astronomy, mathematics, history, philosophy, and countless other sources. The Atheist attempts to maximize their potential through continuous self-improvement. The “church” of Atheism provides a supportive, collaborative mechanism for such progression to occur.

The Atheist is quite admirable.

Christians today could gain much by taking a lesson out of the Atheist “school of learning”. A large percentage of believers do not really know the tenets behind their faith. In fact, many Christians have not even read the Bible! Such reasoning does not make sense. I constantly urge Christian followers to be responsible with their faith and beliefs (pointing to an Atheist for an example). Christians could also benefit by actively pursuing the disciplines I previously listed as it helps us to understand the world and encourages the use of humanity’s gift of an overwhelmingly sophisticated logos.

The Atheist “church” is also something to learn from. Too often Christian church establishments stray away from their original intent of community support and member spiritual/intellectual progression. Unfortunately, many churches have become havens for divisions, persecution, and external judgment (all very un-Christian might I add). Instead, Evangelical churches attempt to “sell” the religion with false prosperity claims, while fundamental churches preach a gospel of superiority.

The Christian church should be like the Atheist establishment – supporting, teaching, encouraging, and fostering an environment of spiritual advancement, among other things.

Responsibility is immensely important in regards to faith and beliefs, and Atheists provide a good example.

2 Responses

  1. […] at Politics and Religion Blog had this to say about why he admires atheists.  This was an antecedent post stating that responsible […]

  2. I am delighted to hear a religous person say something positive about atheists. I often find that theists of all kinds often oppose atheism for bad reasons.
    You refer to the Atheist “church” and the atheist establishment in your article as things the Christian church can learn from. I feel that it is the other way around. Atheists don’t really have a church or congregation, and this space can be viewed as a shortcoming of atheism to fulfill the human need for fellowship. I think the few atheist “churches” that do exist took the cue from the church. The church offers a social establishment while atheists don’t have much of the sort.
    When I first declared told my parents that I was atheist and no longer wished to go to church, the conversation eventually led to my father telling me the main reason he goes to church is because of the community it offers.

    Anways I am very glad that you have some positive feelings towards atheists. The polls show that atheists are not held in high regard, and some positive thoughts from the religous could help to change the overly negative opinions of atheists.

Leave a Reply

