The Middle East: No Respect for Humanity

 

It is truly another world in the Middle East. The political precedent in that area is violence first, then diplomacy (if it can even be called such a thing). Just recently the Hamas-Fatah cease fire fell through. First, true cease-fires do not exist in that part of the world unless you happen to have a powerful and influential friend, like Israel does with the United States. In fact, I would argue that if it weren’t for the United States relation with Israel, they would already be “wiped off the map” (thank you to President Ahmadinejad for those eloquent words).

The news outlets are overwhelmed with violence from that part of the world, I often find myself releasing an exhausted breath of air, thinking “what else is knew”, and then moving on to the sports. Violence in that area does not affect me; I would be more interested in a peace story that comes out of that region. The violence in that region has been so bad for so long, it is an expectation and a profiling mechanism that the rest of the world has developed. Worse yet, the people from this region have accepted the war, violence, and inhumanity to the point where it is just a part of their lives – they embrace it as part of their identity and life’s purpose.

Do people from the Middle East even know what they are shooting each other over anymore? I sure don’t. I do know that many of it comes from the divisions within Islam, the “peaceful” religion that for some reason (according to some interpretations) endorses violence. I would venture as far to say that the God of Islam and the God of Christianity are not the same – sorry to burst anyones bubble on this matter. I will write another post about this subject in upcoming days. But for now, I let us return to the subject at hand.

Do you think the violence in this part of the world will ever stop? Can a civilized culture every exist in an area where gross religious convictions pervert logical thought process? Judging by the track records, my answer is no, never, not in million years. Knowing this, can a war “on terror” (can you have a war on an adjective?) every really be won in an area of the world where violence is ingrained in the culture?

Granted some of these questions are rhetorical, but they are vital questions that you need to consider for yourself – ignoring reality does not eliminate it. (picture from infopalestina.com)

2 Responses

  1. Justin:
    I really appreciate this article because I feel the same way. I tried earlier to add you to my blog roll, but for some reason, it wouldn’t work. I will keep trying. I like your writing style.

  2. […] I mentioned in a previous post, the political process in the Middle East is violence first, diplomacy second (or possibly third, […]

Leave a Reply

