Graduation Day at Virginia Tech

Isn’t it amazing how fast we as a people tend to “move on” from great tragedy.  Well, in case you have forgotten, I am here to remind you again about the immense pain and suffering many have been put through in the past weeks.  Can you imagine your son or daughter being taken away from you?  I do not have children, but the very thought of my own child being murdered is enough to make me shiver with fear and sorrow.

 Virginia Tech is going through graduation, and the families of the would be graduates are suffering greatly.  Could you attend your dead son/daughters graduation day?  I am awed by the courage of these families.

This story has a special relevance to me in that I am graduating Saturday from college.  I feel a mix of joy and sadness as I move on to the next phase in my life (grad school), but I know that any pain I am feeling cannot compare to those of the victims’ families.  Cho didn’t just take the lives of 32 people, he took a great deal of joy away from a countless number of friends and family.

Where can anyone turn to in the effort to help the immense pain of a murdered child?  Although many have their own ways of coping, it would be of great benefit to turn to Jesus.  Jesus knows your pain, He knows the suffer, He knows you.  Jesus will never leave you alone. 

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God ; trust also in me.” (John 14:1)

I extend my sincere wishes and love to the families of the victims.  May the Lord be with them at their time of extreme hardship.  Please know that this country will never forget the tragedy that took place.

(picture from images.google.com)

Leave a Reply

